July 21: This is it?

July 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

This is the official end of my year-long project. But I am hooked now, so I am sure I will be blogging now and then for a while. Currently, my writing channels have opened up and I have some cleansing through poetry to do. Here is my last official poem/creative act for the year. I wasn’t sure that I would persist. But I did. And I am pleased. Not healed, not really better off than I was before, not smarter, happier, more balanced. But more fulfilled? Yes. More convinced that art will save my soul? Yes. More convinced that making art with kids is the best way to spend time with them? No, I already knew that. But I loved every minute of it.

And now for the poem.

The woman in the kitchen

Read a book to me
Buy me a scooter
Let me go to Marseille
Get out of the kitchen
Get out of the kitchen
Get out of the kitchen
Let me leave fingerprints on the glass
Let pigeons sit on the windowsill
Forget about stains on my pants
Get out of the kitchen
Let me make my own dinner
Leave the breadcrumbs on the floor
Maybe an invisible creature hungers for them
Don’t ask me again if I have eaten
Relax your shoulders
Don’t comb your hair
Let’s sit together and talk about life or nothing at all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July 21: This is it? at Simple creative.

meta

