July 10 & 11: Tricksters and snacks

July 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

Yesterday we went to the Belgrade zoo. I am not going to talk about what we did or what we saw as that is not the purpose of this blog, but I do want to share an awesome thing that I saw: a raven and a coyote, in two adjacent cages. It is sad of course that the two tricksters ended up in small wire enclosures in an urban zoo; but it is also lovely to see those two mythical creatures in the same place, even though it is not their natural setting. We can pretend a little:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today my mom was making Serbian crackers they call galete around here, and J. and I helped her roll the dough into balls and bake (and eat) it:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the dough balls

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the ancient toaster oven we baked them in

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this is the end result. The recipe is simple but I don’t have it.

As a bonus, here is a photo of the ceiling in my dad’s house:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and a snapshot of my favorite thing in the world:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I lasted eight days without a latte and then I broke down. I took the kids to the neighborhood cafe, where we sat in the shade, I got caffeinated and took some photos, and we all had a great time.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July 10 & 11: Tricksters and snacks at Simple creative.

meta

