June 29-30: Kids making art

July 1, 2013 § 1 Comment

I love it when kids make art because they want to and not because you told them to. For example, J. went to drawing camp last week because he wanted to learn how to draw his lizard, and the camp was about drawing animals. He enjoyed every day of it, and on Friday he came home with all this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maybe I am just a biased mom, but I think this is pretty darn good. And he was so proud:

pix joe artshow3

Yesterday, his best friend spent the day with us, and in the afternoon, they really wanted to paint outside, which I don’t blame them for, as it was a gorgeous day, and the garden looks fantastic these days.  They painted on the same paper but on the opposite sides of the easel, and when they were done, it looked like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, we love displaying kids’ art in our house.

Then today we were at the art museum, which was packed since it was 90 degrees outside, and we spent time in our favorite part of the museum — the art resource room. J. was the one who didn’t want to leave. He made a few neat things, and was especially interested in printmaking. A book for his grandmother came out of that:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rest of us dabbled too, including O. who loves pencils and paper, and who today also drooled on paper and then punched a hole in it. You’ve got to encourage creativity from the youngest age, no?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAArt is a life-saver. I keep saying this, but I am amazed at what it does for J. He loves museums: he looks at the art, discusses it with me, watches the short movies about artists they show, and especially likes making things himself.

As for me, since this is my blog after all, I finally made some magnets, and packed them in little bags with handmade soaps I bought at the local soap store as gifts for friends. Because, folks, we are traveling overseas tomorrow, so I don’t think I will be posting for the next two days. Hopefully I will be back soon though. Until then, here are the magnets:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

§ One Response to June 29-30: Kids making art

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading June 29-30: Kids making art at Simple creative.

meta

