June 24-28: A whole week

June 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

Summer school is over. I survived. What did we do this week? Not much. On Monday J. and I spent a whole hour attempting to make friendship bracelets. Unsuccessfully. I guess preteen girls are more talented at some things than I am. On Tuesday, I spent a whole hour trying to upload some pictures to get them printed. Unsuccessfully. That got me mad.

On Wednesday, however, I picked some herbs from my garden to take to my friend Laura (who has been mentioned on this blog quite a few times before), and making this bouquet was pure joy. So much so that I made another one the next day, and now I want to make bouquets every day. Because they smell so good! Yarrow, sage, rosemary, lavender, chamomile, oregano, marjoram, and mint.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We also made banana boats at Laura and Tom’s house. Don’t know what a banana boat is? Neither did I until recently. It involves stuffing bananas with decadent toppings like marshmallows and chocolate chips, wrapping them in foil, and grilling them.  I don’t really have pictures of what they look like. But this is what a kid who is about to make them looks like.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then last night we were blessed with an amazing sunset. We just happened to be near the Puget Sound, and I just happened to have a camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today… today I am trying to make those buttons again. Slowly. I spent a few hours grading finals. But as I like to feature things made by others, here is a picture of a vase a student made for me. A great idea!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s two days before my trip home. Maybe I will make some fantastic art in the next two days. I doubt it though.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading June 24-28: A whole week at Simple creative.

meta

