May 29-June 1: Mosaic, beads, and failures

June 1, 2013 § Leave a comment

I have decided to post less frequently. During the day I may have time to make art, but not to write about it, and at night I am just too tired. I keep waiting for someone to come and tell me, “Hey, why don’t you take some time for yourself?” but no one will say that if I don’t.

I spent the whole morning trying to make mozzarella and it failed miserably, so now I am grumpy. But here is what we did in the last three days:

Wednesday, J. and I made a mosaic at the glass museum. A clever craft: you glue pieces of glass on a CD with white glue. Simple, pretty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thursday, we were at the coffee shop as usual, and O. was practicing her journal writing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

which means that I wasn’t. We were a little creative later on that night when we went to a friends’ house for pizza, where we helped put on the toppings, which included nasturtium and calendula leaves (they tasted great), and made silly bead necklaces. J. made one that said “Joe M. loves you” for his best friend, and I made him this one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a reminder for both of us.

Then last night I spent hours trying to learn to put together a Rubik’s cube, but all I got was this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This, too, makes me grumpy.  This blog is clearly not about my stellar successes in art, problem solving, and homemade living.

So as a consolation prize, here is a picture of a fascinating phenomenon: a shedding lizard.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading May 29-June 1: Mosaic, beads, and failures at Simple creative.

meta

