May 7: sewing at midnight

May 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

I don’t think I am doing this project the way I had initially intended. Instead of carving out time every day for myself, I find myself scrambling, around midnight, after grading and class prep, to find something to do for a few minutes so I can check this thing off the list too. This is too bad, because I do enjoy all the things I make. I just wish I had more time for them.

So last night at midnight I made an origami penguin for my injured kid, and wrote a note on the body of this pink penguin that said Get well soon. He was very pleased with it this morning. The penguin was nothing to report, but I can say that I didn’t skip a day of creative acts, and I made a kid happy. Who doesn’t like to get notes?

Tonight I finished my first hand-sewing project, a little red felt purse. It is surely nothing to be excited about, except it’s the first thing I have ever sewn in my life, and it was fun. Some decorations may be in order. And a more ambitious sewing project. Maybe after the finals are over.

In any case, I apologize to my readers to being so unexciting lately. There are two weeks left until the end of the semester, and at this point, everything seems like an endurance competition. I believe I will make it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading May 7: sewing at midnight at Simple creative.

meta

