April 8: Pinata, day 1

April 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

It is April, which is J’s birthday, which is celebration season, which is pinata season. This will be the third (or fourth, I can’t remember) traditional one. Fortunately, he has gotten older and wiser and doesn’t request Spiderman or other corporate pinatas anymore, so I can just make a good old-fashioned one that I learned how to make from Latino/a kids in Tucson. All one needs is a balloon, newspaper torn in strips, and paste, which I make of 1 part flour, 4-5 parts water, and a little bit of cinnamon (I learned that from a website). You cook the flour and water on the stove until the paste is thick, and then you begin to add layers upon layers of newspaper, covered with paste on both sides (not too thick!) onto the balloon until it is covered. Today I finished the first layer. I imagine the next few days won’t be interesting on the blog, as I will be making the pinata bigger and stronger. J. is in charge of decorating it.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading April 8: Pinata, day 1 at Simple creative.

meta

