March 20: maple leaf

March 21, 2013 § Leave a comment

It has become clear to me that origami and kirigami are becoming my new obsessions. As obsessions go, these are certainly not the worst. Today I spent 12 hours away from home, and didn’t see either of my children before they went to bed. Maybe that’s why I spent quite a bit of time mindfully cutting out maple leaves from origami paper instead of rushing to grade papers, which is what I usually do. The trickiest part was getting those 36 degree angles to line up, which you’d think wouldn’t be hard for me as a mathematician to do. But there you have it. Out of four attempts, one didn’t even look like a maple leaf, and the last one (the one to the right) turned out the best. Tomorrow will be even better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading March 20: maple leaf at Simple creative.

meta

