March 9: Back to collages

March 10, 2013 § Leave a comment

When I woke up this morning, I decided it was a good day to make a spring collage. I got the Martha Stewart magazines I buy at thrift stores specifically for collage making, and began cutting pictures. Except the pictures ended up being not of flowers, chicks, bunnies, and eggs, but instead of other random things that really appealed to me today. And so I started a different project. I called it “The I’d love to pages.” Pages of things I would not even think of owning, places I wouldn’t even think of living in. Guilty pleasures. It was a great project, not only because it was sunny this morning, and J. joined me, and we made a big mess in his room. It was great because it cheered me up. I don’t allow myself frivolous dreams usually, and I certainly don’t aspire to the living Martha Stewart sells. But giving myself permission to dream about solitude and comfort I don’t ordinarily have was liberating. I am not planning on buying antique furniture or leaving the family to go to a resort retreat just yet, but maybe it’s okay to let down the righteous guard for an hour or two.

i dream of reading books in a quiet room like this one

i dream of reading books in a quiet room like this one

i dream of taking a long time drinking espresso drinks every morning at a cafe

i dream of taking a long time drinking espresso drinks every morning at a cafe

i dream of sitting on a bench like this one observing life

i dream of sitting on a bench like this one observing life

and i know that this is silly, but i dream of an organized home, like this

and i know that this is silly, but i dream of an organized home, like this

There. I have shared my dark secrets.

Here is what J. made. Though he would never make a collage on his own initiative, he always joins me. I am always pleased when he does.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading March 9: Back to collages at Simple creative.

meta

