March 8: just yogurt

March 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

I just realized that it was International Women’s Day today, and I did nothing about it.  I was too busy running around, trying to catch up, not being revolutionary. Now I am so very sleepy and it’s past 11, so I am going to say that making yogurt in my yogurt maker counts as my creative project. Not very revolutionary.

I have been making yogurt for years. In Tucson, there was no need for a yogurt maker, as direct sunlight would help it set. Here, it’s a different story. The yogurt maker is my friend. The kids eat my yogurt: it was one of O’s first foods, and J. mixes it with jam. Lately I have been using it to make yogurt cheese. Until recently I have been using purchased starter to make yogurt, but now I have really gone self-sufficient, and I use last week’s yogurt for this week’s starter. It’s amazing how self-perpetuating it is. You just have to make sure to use it within a week.

 

the yogurt maker looks like this

the yogurt maker looks like this

the milk starts looking like this

the milk starts looking like this

and in the morning it will look like this

and in the morning it will look like this

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading March 8: just yogurt at Simple creative.

meta

