March 2: Bread machine pound cake

March 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

The first round of spring cleaning is done. The drawers and closets are organized, things are put in their proper places, and some sense of order is restored. I also had a cooking spree today, filling the refrigerator with grains and tahini-based dips. But then, after a whole day of cooking and cleaning (and even a walk downtown for a family outing) I really wanted to make something sweet. Something in five minutes, as this blog promises. I remembered that my bread machine makes cakes, and so in five minutes I whipped up the chocolate pound cake. The bread machine took close to two hours to produce it, and the result, in my opinion, was excellent. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 1 1/2 cup (which did not make D. to enthused about the cake), and it was lovely: 1 1/4 cup milk, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup cocoa, 2 cups flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 3/4 teaspoon baking soda, and 1/2 cup (at least in my case) brown sugar. I fully embrace kitchen gadgets, and the bread machine in particular has been a good friend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, yeah, I know. It doesn’t look like much. But it tastes good, and that’s what matters. Plus, it’s almost healthy.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading March 2: Bread machine pound cake at Simple creative.

meta

