February 15: More comfort food (again)

February 16, 2013 § Leave a comment

As a working, nursing mother I work three shifts: 1) work, 2) housework, and 3) feeding the baby at night. When, in addition, to prepare for a short weekend trip to the beach I decide that the house has to be clean, and food taken on the trip homemade, of course there is no way I will find time for myself. But, hey, this blog promised exactly this: hurried creative acts despite the demands of work and family. Nevertheless, I apologize to all readers who have seen this one before: I made instant oatmeal for the trip. I am in love with this recipe. I experimented with it and found it essential not to grind all the toasted oats in the food processor. The recipe calls  2/3 of the oats to be ground, and the remaining 1/3 to be left whole. It’s fluffier that way somehow. I add less sugar and more cinnamon, and it is so good, that O. squeals from her high chair when I eat it to make me share with her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanks to The Boss (covering Pete Seeger) for keeping me company while writing this. Now off to bed! The ocean awaits!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading February 15: More comfort food (again) at Simple creative.

meta

