February 9: Pita bread and more

February 10, 2013 § 4 Comments

As promised, to go with the bean dip, we made pita bread. D. made the dough in the bread machine, and I baked it. The key to making pita bread is a hot oven (500 degrees).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had guests for dinner, so other foods were made, including a traditional Serbian djuvec

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(picture after and before — vegetables, rice, and pork for those who eat it — not me — )

and a traditional Serbian “pita” with homemade cheese, which, as you can see, was popular with the guests.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am not really a traditional Serbian, actually not at all, but I do like making Serbian foods.  Recipes? Just ask.

A great thing about today’s guests was that they came down to Tacoma to go to the Art Museum with us. I always like guests who like museums, and I am particularly partial to our lovely Art Museum.  I lent my camera to J. while we were there, and here is what he saw:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

§ 4 Responses to February 9: Pita bread and more

  • Looks delicious. Sorry to be a pain but would you mind sharing the recipe for the Serbian djuvec and the traditional Serbian pita? Many thanks!

    • Ksenija Simic-Muller says:

      Sorry, it’s been a busy week. I didn’t forget though, and I will send you the recipes tomorrow!

      On Sun, Feb 10, 2013 at 1:31 AM, Simple creative

    • Ksenija Simic-Muller says:

      Okay, almost two months later, here it is.

      The djuvec: you sautee 2 onions, then add 2-3 red peppers (green are fine too), 3-4 large sliced potatoes, 1 cup of rice, and a can of tomatoes (I use stewed, but any consistency is fine), and cook for a while. All my measurements are approximate, and I don’t think it really matters if they are exact. The original recipe also calls for porkchops (cut into 1 inch cubes), but I usually skip the pork, as I am vegetarian). Add salt to taste After about 5-10 minutes of that, you put it all in a baking tray, and bake until the rice is soft. If you don’t use meat, you definitely want to add a sufficient amount of oil. The rice on top gets crunchy, so you should make sure that there is water and/or oil in the pan to avoid overdrying. If you use meat, then it’s not really necessary, as the pork fat will take care of that.

      Pita: You need filo dough (or whatever it’s called in Australia — the pastry sheets). The filling: 3 eggs, 1 package of cream cheese, 1 package of cottage cheese, and 1 lb of spinach, cooked and chopped (if you want spinach). Lately I have been using feta instead of cream cheese, and I like it a lot better. You can experiment with the filling, really, almost anything will work. Another good combination is with grated potatoes and chopped leeks. Anyway, you spread the filling evenly around the pastry sheet, not too thick, and then, using 3-4 layers at a time, roll then up. Put in a baking tray, and sprinkle with oil. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350ish degrees F, or until golden brown. My mom always makes them nice and puffy, but mine always deflate when I cut them. I suspect she uses more oil than I do.

      Enjoy, and experiment! You pretty much can’t fail with either recipe. Oh, yes, and if the filo dough falls apart, it’s no big deal. Once it’s rolled up you can’t really tell.

      On Sun, Feb 10, 2013 at 1:31 AM, Simple creative

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading February 9: Pita bread and more at Simple creative.

meta

