February 5: Snakes on a cube (!?)

February 6, 2013 § 2 Comments

Today my blog was mentioned in Mudpies & Sunshine, a lovely blog I follow regularly. In fact, it seems that Mrs. Mudpies nominated the blog for a sunshine award. This leaves me humbled and a little anxious. I feel a little responsible and accountable now, needing to make sure to keep up with the posts and ideas for projects. But mostly, I am just pleased to know that there are people around the world who engage in simple pleasures of making simple crafts with their families, and who care about what we do here in our chaotic little household.

Today, D. was sick, and there were a million things happening, and now it’s really time for me to go to bed so I can wake up before 7 and make myself look respectable for the first day of class. And even though I wanted to make something awesome and unforgettable on the day that I was nominated for an award, I didn’t. I did have a strong desire to make a modular origami cube, though. Yes, I am a mathematician, but that’s not why. Rather, I like the repetitiveness of modular origami. It is meditative, and is successful in getting my mind off my usual thoughts in the past weeks about how fragile life is (did I mention that O. wakes up every hour at night? Sleeplessness breeds morbid thoughts). I got the instructions from an awesome website, origami-instructions.com. Here are the instructions for the cube. And being how the year of the dragon is ending, and the year of the snake is about to begin, I made two snakes (to keep each other company). So here they are, kissing on a cube:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

§ 2 Responses to February 5: Snakes on a cube (!?)

  • My goodness – you guys are too clever! And…I’m so pleased you’re pleased. But don’t be even a little bit anxious. There are no expectations – seriously you could cancel the blog tomorrow and I would not ask for the award back πŸ˜‰ The blog world is filled with highly creative people…then there is my blog. Today, for instance, we are painting egg cartons. πŸ™‚ No pressure!!

    • Ksenija Simic-Muller says:

      Oh, but I think that you are so creative. Maybe I like your blog so much precisely because you don’t make things that are overly complicated and make the rest of us look inadequate. It looks like your family has some great times, and I like being able to witness that on the blog.

      On Wed, Feb 6, 2013 at 2:07 AM, Simple creative

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading February 5: Snakes on a cube (!?) at Simple creative.

meta

