February 2: Brigid

February 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

The last weekend before I go back to work. The future of this blog is uncertain, but I sincerely hope that I can find five minutes a day for art in the midst of teaching, grading, meetings, papers, and whatnots. In any case,  instead of rejoicing in this moment for what it is: the end of beautiful eight months spent at home with a very special baby, I am full of fears.

Today it is Candlemas, or Imbolc in the Celtic tradition. It is also known as Brigid’s day, and it the time when nature starts to awaken. It is time to plant seeds, physical and metaphorical. So today I would like to plant some seeds of courage that I once had, and then lost, mostly in becoming a mother in my mid- and late-thirties and raising children in this uncertain world.

So here is my collage reminder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took the picture by the light of a very weak lamp, as two children were sleeping in my bed, and I was just too tired to move to a different room. That’s why you can barely see it. But that is Brigid, the triple goddess of Ireland, who was so popular that the Christians could not eliminate her cult and instead made her into Saint Brigid.  According to Wikipedia, “On Imbolc Eve, Brighid was said to visit virtuous households and bless the inhabitants as they slept.As Brighid represented the light half of the year, and the power that will bring people from the dark season of winter into spring, her presence was very important at this time of year.”

Here is the view from my window as I was making the collage. Endless fog in the Northwest…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is comforting to know that spring is on the way. Apparently, Phil did not see his shadow today.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading February 2: Brigid at Simple creative.

meta

