January 27: Flu, monsters, and hummus

January 28, 2013 § 2 Comments

J. was sick today and spent the day in bed. To prevent him from playing Angry Birds the entire time, I convinced him we should make a few paper monsters. As these monsters are proliferating around the house,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also decided that I have been eating too many processed foods lately. I notice this as O. is eating solid food now, and is especially interested in eating what I am eating, which makes me more aware of choices which are not appropriate for her. So this morning, not realizing that J. was going to be sick all day, I embarked on making cottage cheese and hummus. Cheese I have written about before here, but the hummus turned out much better than usual.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(note that I have already been dipping into it — with falafels, no less)

I believe the secret of my hummus success is that I cooked the chickpeas yesterday and put them in the fridge overnight. I used the water the chickpeas cooked in, which was also cold and viscous. This made the hummus smooth and yummy!

I have also  been playing with some poetry. Of course I would get  my creative juices flowing ten days before returning to work.

(Tom Waits is still keeping me company as the kids are finally asleep and D. away. What an exhausting day!)

§ 2 Responses to January 27: Flu, monsters, and hummus

  • Hello! I found you on the sunshine award from mudpiesandsunshines blog. I really like your blog and am following you 🙂 Was wondering if you would mind sharing your hummus recipe with me? I was talking about wanting to make that last night! Im sure it’s so much cheaper than buying it from the store. congrats on the award 🙂

    • ksimicmuller says:

      Hi! Thanks, I am following you too 🙂 Sorry it took me so long to respond. Here is the recipe:

      2 cups cooked chickpeas (I cook my own, but a lot of people use cans)
      5 tablespoons tahini
      1 teaspoon sea salt
      1/3 cup lemon juice (I used juice from the bottle, though my recipe calls for fresh squeezed)
      2-3 cloves garlic (I use 3)
      3 tablespoons olive oil
      1/4 cup water (I used liquid that I cooked the chickpeas in; if you use water, make sure it’s cold; you also may need more than 1/4 cup water, especially if you want the hummus to be creamy)

      Put everything in the food processor (or blender) and blend until smooth. As I mentioned in the post, I think that using cold chickpeas and cold liquid was key to the hummus turning out so well this time.

      Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading January 27: Flu, monsters, and hummus at Simple creative.

meta

