January 6: food, the last chapter

January 6, 2013 § Leave a comment

First I will report that the instant oatmeal is excellent and that it’s  been packed with my granola for our upcoming trip.

Second, I will also report that I made baked beans and bread this morning. Our Serbian Christmas Eve dinner was delicious, and the coin in the bread went to the person designated as “traveler.” There are rules in Serbian households, which seem to me to be remnants of old Pagan traditions about how the Christmas bread is divided, and the traveler gets a piece. This is good, as we have a trip coming up, including O’s first flight. Unlike my grandmother who always tried to make her son or grandson get the coin; or my mom who always wanted one of her girls to have it, I didn’t cheat, so this outcome, while a bit disappointing to J, was fair.

Our wrinkled tablecloth should assure you that, while I secretly (and openly) admire Martha Stewart, our household in no way resembles hers. Somehow, today this give me joy.

beans, potato salad, bread, beet salad, cod, dates, figs, tangerines, and sugar plums

beans, potato salad, bread, beet salad, cod, dates, figs, tangerines, and sugar plums

We also took time to read a food blessing a friend sent me, which made the meal even more enjoyable. I guess that’s why people say Grace before eating.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading January 6: food, the last chapter at Simple creative.

meta

