January 4: In the night kitchen

January 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

After O. went to bed and J. started his biweekly viewing of Star Wars, I headed for the kitchen. After all, what better way to ground than to prepare food? First I made myself a healthy-ish hot chocolate (milk, cocoa, corn starch, agave nectar, vegan marshmellows — yum!) , then proceeded to make a truly healthy beet salad,

grated beets, olive oil, vinegar

grated beets, olive oil, vinegar

the delicious granola about which I wrote before,

I replaced maple syrup with agave nectar to reduce the cost and it worked fine

I replaced maple syrup with agave nectar to reduce the cost and it worked fine

and finally, shockingly, I cooked chicken for O. Shockingly I say, because I haven’t eaten meat since 1997, and because  J. didn’t have any meat until he was 2 or so. But I heard the studies that say that rice has high levels of arsenic, not to mention that rice cereal is just gross; and my baby needs her iron. So I heeded my pediatrician’s advice and cooked some $10/lb chicken (I wonder if it’s a golden chicken to cost so much) and blended it (the food processor made the pieces too large for a baby who is just starting real food), and put it in the handy-dandy baby food container. We’ll see when I will succumb to commercial baby food. In the meantime, I am feeling pretty smug.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I was cooking and washing dishes, I was listening to some inspiring songs, including this one.

Now I feel grounded, inspired and exhausted.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading January 4: In the night kitchen at Simple creative.

meta

