December 31/January 1: Love letter to Tacoma

January 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

My project has made it into 2013. I have been creative, at least in some minimal way, since July. Since January 1 is the time of resolutions, mine is, in addition to keeping up with the creativity and the blog, to let art transform my life again. Rather than just setting aside 5 minutes at the end of the day for the creative project du jour, I want to live a fully creative life. My friends always comment on how fully and creatively my family lives, so really all I need to do is start seeing things through their eyes.

For today I want to share some images of our sleepy little town, which becomes transformed every New Year’s Eve into a fabulous venue for celebrating through art. Every December 31 I am proud to live here, moved by the spirit of the community. I like the photography of detail, and especially like to take pictures of signs, stencils, and graffiti. Some of that is apparent below.

First, notes about Tacoma on a chain link fence next to a precipitous drop into a vacant lot:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA     OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then, the beginning of the First Night celebration: what is said to be the world’s shortest parade. It is in a blur because I like dark blurry photos and because I dislike flash:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And other details of the evening:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today we were greeted with sunshine and view of Mt. Rainier as we woke up in our downtown hotel room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you, Tacoma.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading December 31/January 1: Love letter to Tacoma at Simple creative.

meta

