December 26: gods and goddesses perched on trees

December 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

While trying to regain a sense of safety and confidence in this world, I return to my favorite and most healing creative endeavor: making collages. I may even have embarked on a long-term project. I have a large coffee table book about trees that I bought for $1, and that’s been sitting under my art desk, waiting for something to be done with it. So tonight I cut out a Krishna, Brigid, and a Moon Goddess, and perched them in trees. I intend to fill the book with more images of joyful, life-affirming deities in the days to come. Tonight’s project was done in very little time, as O. has decided not to sleep unless I am lying in bed right next to her, so she can put her hands on my face (which means that she is staring at me right now, wondering when I am going to be done already). Because of the haste, and the use of regular white glue, the pictures look a little wrinkled, and ill-glued. They may look better in the morning, but by then I will have moved on to other things.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Three people today affirmed my creative journey for this year in some way — two enjoyed something I made for them, and one said I reminded her to “stop and smell the roses.” I think maybe I should do the same. And start to really enjoy the process, and this blog. In other words, no more complaining!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading December 26: gods and goddesses perched on trees at Simple creative.

meta

