October 22: Paper flower

October 23, 2012 § 4 Comments

My friend Laura sent me an article today, named “This is your brain on crafts.” The article states, “crafting can decrease your heart rate and blood pressure, and even improve sleep,”  and reports on research that shows that crafting is good for your brain and reduces stress. This is good to know. But sometimes crafting is as stressful as anything else. Sometimes I just get mad at myself. Like tonight, with another hopeless origami book I couldn’t follow. Just as I was starting to relax into it, realizing that I finally know how to make a bird base without looking at instructions, feeling cocky, I got stuck again was unable to complete two out of the three items I started to make. But that one I did complete was really nice, and the plan is to put it in J’s lunch box tomorrow. I think he will like it.

I suppose I am just tired. I dream of going to bed at 8pm. I have also been feeling uneasy about how much privilege I have — for example having the luxury to make crafts every night.

In any case, the article also says, “Looking at something aesthetically pleasing distracts your brain from worries — beauty can literally crowd out negative images.” Maybe not the most beautiful, but certainly the cutest and perhaps even most aesthetically pleasing was the image of O. in her shiny Hello Kitty shoes, so I will end with that:

Thanks, Laura!

§ 4 Responses to October 22: Paper flower

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading October 22: Paper flower at Simple creative.

meta

