October 15: Biscotti

October 16, 2012 § 1 Comment

Tonight I felt the urge to make biscotti. I never made it before, so I got the simplest possible recipe, for almond biscotti, from Serious Eats and gave it a try. Naturally, since this is what I do, I used whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour, and used less sugar than the recipe calls for. (And then I wonder why my family won’t eat my baked goods!) Because of that, my biscotti does not look like the one on the website where I got the recipe. Next time, I may use at least some white flour, or figure out another way to make the biscotti less crumbly. Like get a new oven that doesn’t lie about temperature?

But hey, the house smells like almonds, the biscotti taste pretty good, and spending time in the kitchen while listening to Mike Oldfield and Jean Michel Jarre is incredibly grounding.  Besides, nothing I make ever looks like in the pictures. There is a lesson in that.

before baking

between the two bakings

all done

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

§ One Response to October 15: Biscotti

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading October 15: Biscotti at Simple creative.

meta

