October 10: Kale chips

October 11, 2012 § 2 Comments

I am not a big fan of kale, which is why I thought that kale chips would be good to make — the nutrition of kale with the appeal of chips, all in one. I got the recipe from Sunset magazine, then modified it just slightly. For an average-size bunch of kale you need 3 T oil (I only had safflower, though the recipe calls for olive), 2 T soy sause, and 2 t sesame seeds. You take the ribs out of the kale and then break it into largish pieces. I found that small pieces burn too easily. You put the kale into the sauce-oil-sesame mix and coat it evenly. You then put the pieces of kale in single layers on cookie sheets (I had enough kale for two batches of two) and bake, at 300 degrees or less (I think 250 works better, as it’s less likely that the chips will burn) for about 10-15 minutes. The trick is that the kale is crispy but not brown. This is trickier than it sounds, and I think that I burned more than a few. But the ones that did not burn were excellent. Hurray for kale!

going into the oven

having come out of the oven

 

 

§ 2 Responses to October 10: Kale chips

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading October 10: Kale chips at Simple creative.

meta

