September 7: more mini books

September 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

It was easy making art when I wasn’t working. Today, however, was my first day of class. What was I thinking signing up to teach a class in the fall? Clearly new mothers should not teach. All morning I was distracted at home because I was thinking about the class. Then in class I was distracted because I was thinking about home. And then afterwards, I was distracted at home because I was thinking about how bad the class went. It was all very tiring, and I just wanted to hide away somewhere where I could not be found.

Fortunately, I am committed to this project and my child is on a “making art with mom” kick. So we sat at the table and made the easiest mini book(s) from the mini books book (we each made one). They looked like this

J. used a pre-made cover from the book and I made one from my handmade paper. He dictated a story about Legos for his book:

and I found it soothing to write the Julian of Norwich line

(“All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.”)

Now I feel a little better.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading September 7: more mini books at Simple creative.

meta

