August 4: Puppets

August 5, 2012 § 1 Comment

This morning we saw an awesome puppet show at our library, as part of the summer reading program (I don’t know what I would do without libraries, and it breaks my heart that ours are facing a $3.6 million budget cut — I mean how can you close down libraries?!). The performer was part of a troupe called Zambini brothers, and what made this show cool, so cool that this was J’s second time seeing it, was that all the puppets were made of “recycled, discarded, and second-hand junk” (see website). Well, those who know us know how much we like all these things, so it’s no wonder that we liked the show. It also inspired me to make some puppets with J.

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I strongly dislike getting coffee in paper cups, so on those rare occasions that I do, I save the cups, hoping I can use them for something. Well, today I got a chance to, as J. and I made puppets out of paper cups, pipe cleaners, beads, thread, and stickers. I am pretty sure that most of these things were thrift store finds. We had a great time. He was much more meticulous than I, and really put a lot of effort into it.

(Yes, you saw it correctly. It was 10 o’clock when we were done. I am not the most organized parent when it comes to bedtimes. And by the way, the little cup in his right hand is the drum that the puppet is supposed to play.)

The puppets are now sitting together on the bedside table, hanging out, looking happy.

It makes me happy somehow, though I was terribly grumpy just 5 minutes before we started making them. I guess that’s why I started this project.

§ One Response to August 4: Puppets

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading August 4: Puppets at Simple creative.

meta

