August 3: Cheese

August 4, 2012 § 2 Comments

I was going to be lazy today, avoid all thinking, feeling, cutting out pictures, or following instructions. So I made cheese. No, not any fancy kind. Just regular, cottage-cheese-style cheese. The kind we call “white cheese” where I grew up (Serbia/ former Yugoslavia for those who don’t know), and eat with bread, and tomato and cucumber salad all summer long. In any case, making it is a no-brainer. You need milk, starter (also known as a mesophilic cheese culture), renet, and time: first you put in the culture and you wait; then you put in the renet and you wait; then you heat the milk, ever so slowly, until it reaches a certain temperature; then you drain it; and then you refrigerate it, and it’s done. It takes about three hours, though you don’t have to do much except be there every 45 minutes to do whatever you are supposed to do next. Unfortunately, I started too late, so I am running out of the last component (time), as it is way past my bedtime and it’s important for me to get my sleep. But this is what it looks like:

heated to 115 degrees, taken off the stove

draining the liquid in the sink

I won’t show you what it looks like when it’s all done because I am putting it into the fridge and going to bed. But, take my word for it: this cheese is easy to make, and it tastes great (the healthy kind of great that is). Want the recipe? Just ask me. Want the cheesemaking supplies? Just google it. I buy mine from Lehman’s.

§ 2 Responses to August 3: Cheese

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading August 3: Cheese at Simple creative.

meta

