August 2: Lammas/fear

August 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

A dear friend introduced me to the purifying properties of burning rituals. Inspired by her example, tonight I created a fear card as a follow-up to the hope card from last night, to burn. On one side I glued a poem I found and some images, all of which made sense to me in relation to my fears; on the other, I wrote about all the fears I am ready to let go of.

This is personal, so I won’t go into much detail about what I wrote. I will just say that I have had many fears lately, and they all come down to this: ultimately, I can’t protect the ones I love.

The burning part was more complicated.  I sat on the front steps of the house and put a crappy lighter to the card, but with the glue and the Polaroid, it was loath to burn. I guess you can’t get rid of fears just like that. I only burned half of it, and will have to finish tomorrow. Still, I would like to think that I feel a little lighter and a little more brave right now

the remainders of the fears

It’s been a long day. I am discovering I can’t accomplish all my lofty goals, especially when one child won’t nap and cries all afternoon, and the other has excess energy, won’t listen, and goes to bed at ten. Not to mention that it’s time to start preparing for work again. It’s hard for me to quit doing and just be, and enjoy this precious short time of having a newborn to hold.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading August 2: Lammas/fear at Simple creative.

meta

