July 31: kitchen adventures

July 31, 2012 § 1 Comment

What is the world coming to when I, a vegetarian of 15 years, am making chicken nuggets? Maybe it’s J’s persistent nagging to take him to McDonald’s where they have “cool lunches kids can take home.” Hm. I have heard about their chicken nuggets. While they are probably not made from pink slime, they are made of breasts of  “unusually large chickens” (according to Wikipedia). So I am postponing his full entry into the mainstream culture for as long as I can. And I am making chicken nuggets.

In fact, first I made a creamy herb dressing (thank you, Sunset magazine) from 1T canola oil heated with 1 1/2 t ground coriander, 1/2 C yogurt, 1t white wine vinegar, 1/2 C mint, and 1/2 C oregano (the recipe calls for mint, basil, and cilantro, but I pulled out all the cilantro from the herb garden and don’t even try to grow basil).  You blend it, and voila!

I also got some mustard going (thank you, Sunset magazine). Right now, it has yellow and brown mustard seeds, apple cider vinegar, fresh thyme and fresh rosemary, and it doesn’t look like much, but come back in two days to see it when it’s all done. In fact, ever since I have started making mustard, I am not sure why anyone would buy it in a jar. I am thinking taste and cost here.

And now for the chicken nuggets. The recipe is, once again, from the Homemade pantry book. I do recommend it. Strongly Here is the assembly line:

chicken, mayonnaise (actually vegannaise) with lemon juice, and bread crumbs (homemade from homemade bread — heck, yeah!). You dip the chicken into the mayonnaise then into the crumbs, and put on a baking sheet. You refrigerate for 20 minutes, then you bake. First I wondered why would anyone be so idle as to make chicken nuggets when you can buy them, but the process was actually fun, as most repetitive processes usually are. And, yes, they are cost effective. They are baking now, and I have no idea if J. will eat them, but this is what they looked like before going into the oven:

To tell the truth, I don’t really enjoy making all this homemade-from-scratch stuff, but I feel very proud, accomplished, and superior when I am done, which makes it worth it. I am still not sure if I want to count kitchen work as creativity then, especially since I am just following someone else’s recipe. But, I am making something new and good, and I guess that’s what counts.

If you are interested in any of the recipes, let me know, and I can send them to you!

 

§ One Response to July 31: kitchen adventures

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July 31: kitchen adventures at Simple creative.

meta

