July 26: nothing special

July 27, 2012 § 4 Comments

Another day flew by. Precious little time to and for myself. It’s probably my fault that both my children just want(ed) to be carried by mom all the time. I did manage to create a little lavender project from a kids’ craft book:  I got a set of four craft books, one for each season, from the library book sale ($1 each — I love the cheap art accessories the library provides me with), and this project attracted my attention:

It looked pretty and easy, and used lavender, which I have an abundance of in the garden.

As is usually the case when I follow instructions from books, it turned out to be harder than I thought, and the end result looked very different from the picture:

One could call it mummified lavender.

But I didn’t give up, and tried again. The second attempt still looked nothing like the picture from the book, but it was fun to make, has a fabulous smell, and will keep moths away from the clothes in the closet.

Oh, and by the way, I had homemade granola and homemade yogurt for breakfast this morning, and it tasted fantastic. I guess the payoff from kitchen creativity is immediate and tangible.

It would be nice if these creative excursions managed to create some kind of a sacred space for me, kairos instead of chronos perception of time, but alas, they probably just add stress to my days. Not to say that it isn’t worth it. It is part of learning to slow down and listen to myself.

§ 4 Responses to July 26: nothing special

  • Rachel says:

    I’m typing this while rocking a young babe in my arms who was restless all night and looking toward a day with a five year old whose fiesty nature turned in to crazy tantrum for a large part of yesterday afternoon. Don’t be hard on yourself on your children’s need for you. I. is a newborn it is as it should be and in just a few years we will probably both cling desperately to the memories when our current 5 year olSerenity seems like something only captured in snippets, but it is essential to our health. Maybe the 5 minutes was as you ate the granola. Or in the moments as you breath the lavender in. My gran had buckets of English lavender in her garden. I use to handstich tiny muslin sachets and stuff them with lavender.

    • Rachel says:

      Oops that should say O is a newborn.

    • ksimicmuller says:

      Oh, I agree, I love the hugs and snuggles, the way you can feel a baby breathe when you carry her in a carrier, and I am not in a hurry to have a teenager in the house who probably won’t acknowledge me at all. It was more of an observation that she is not really happy unless I hold her. And it does wear me out at the end of the day. I don’t want to pretend to be a super mom. The key, I think, is to be present to those moments of tantrums and restlessness, and to accept them as part of a blessed life. (I will definitely send you a lavender sachet in the fall or winter.)

  • Rachel says:

    Dang it. One fingered typing on a phone while trying to soothe a baby sometimes results in errant posting. We’re going to cling to these memories of the time when our current five year olds wanted nothing more than to snuggle with us.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July 26: nothing special at Simple creative.

meta

