July 25: herbs and granola

July 26, 2012 § 1 Comment

Today was rough. O. seems to be going through a growth spurt, so napping in her bed or chair was out of the question. Instead, I put her in the baby carrier, and we spent a sizable part of the day in the kitchen. I dealt with herbs and food.

First, I pulled the dried lavender of the stems, for the sachets I will make for Xmas/New Year/Solstice gifts.

Then I prepared the fresh lavender for drying.

before

after

There was some oregano to take care of too. In the coming days, I still need to deal with marjoram, lemon balm, and mint. I still haven’t figured out how I will use all these herbs for the gifst, but I have some ideas. Stay tuned.

When this was over, since O. was still in some distress, I kept going in the kitchen. I decided to make my first batch of granola ever. I used the recipe from The homemade pantry: 101 foods you can stop buying and start making by Alana Chernila, a fabulous book recommended by my friend Laura, which I intend to use a lot in the coming year. The results were quite satisfying:

the mixing stage

prior to going into the oven

up close

The maple syrup smelled fabulous while baking, and the taste was excellent.

Now the question is, Can making granola and drying herbs be consider a creative endeavor? I say yes, but it does beg the next question: What is creativity anyway? Not sure, but I know that the kitchen wore me out today, and that I am looking forward to another short and simple activity tomorrow, if the napping schedule permits it.

Instead of a closing remark, here is the creative project the men in my family are working on:

cardboard castle

 

 

 

§ One Response to July 25: herbs and granola

  • Rachel says:

    Yes! Kitchen endeavors definitely count. Plus that granola looks scrumptious. I went and took photographs of Julie this evening.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July 25: herbs and granola at Simple creative.

meta

